Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Foot Job

I met up with a couple of my favorite birders this morning for a walk along one of our local lakes.  We logged 28 species which was pretty good for this time of year.  The weather started cold but by the time we returned to our cars it was almost time to shed coats - really a perfect morning for a walk.  Along the trail, some street "artist" has painted these feet with faces which I find strangely appealing.  They are all labeled "foot job" and almost all of them are on old rusty pieces of metal.  The trail is on the bed of an old rail way so there are various abandoned structures along the way from when the railway ties were removed to make way for the walking trail.  

This afternoon, Jax and I had our 3rd Nosework class.  This time the hides were a bit harder but Jax did surprisingly well.  His problem is that he gets distracted by other smells and sometimes forgets that his job is to "find!"  But the idea is for him to use his senses and his brain, so mission accomplished.  

Our internet has been off and on all afternoon so I'm going to try to upload this using my iPhone Hot Spot.  Let's hope it works.  Also tagging for Derelict Sunday as I think the rusty bits qualify.

Dark with hazelnuts today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.