Flossmo

By Flossmo

In Accord

Despite not being religious I seem to have spent a lot of time lately in houses of worship. Today it was St Thomas on the Bourne, which is just a few minutes walk away for me. I went for a lunchtime concert by the In Accord ladies acapella group. The concert is one of a series happening during Lent to raise money for Christian Aid's East African Hunger Crisis Appeal.

The singing was excellent - five part close harmony as was explained to us by their musical director. In fact not only did we get a demonstration of the five different parts but we, the audience, had to sing in five part harmony with the group, too. I mimed in order to avoid some sort of civil disaster. The group sang a pleasant medley of popular songs from the last few decades and it made a nice interlude from the crashing and banging in the bathroom. With my deep love of wordplay I especially liked their name.

This evening I am off to Heartstart. It's a free 2h course on what to do in medical emergencies run by Farnham Lions. I have done the course once before a few years ago but feel in need of a refresher. My friend J is also going. We booked after the recent ambulance strikes when we decided we needed to up our game. You can never be too prepared.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.