Flossmo

By Flossmo

Learning

The Heartstart workshop last night was truly excellent - a lot of really knowledgeable people had given up their time to get people like me up to speed. We covered heart attacks, cardiac arrests and choking - how to recognise them, what to do and when and how to do it. We then spent quite a lot of time talking about defibrillators and how they work. We were told that using a defibrillator in the first few minutes after a cardiac arrest gives a person the best chance of survival. I was amazed to find out that there are more than sixty available some or all of the time in Farnham.  I hope I never have to use one but I feel much more confident that if I had to I would have some idea what to do.

Apart from a walk with my friend J this morning, it has been an indoor day. I have just volunteered to help with a newly formed local branch of the adult literacy organisation Read Easy. I have spent much of today reading various handbooks and policy documents. There is much to learn but I hope to be a useful part of something which I thing has huge societal value.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.