Feeding blackbirds

I'm making a video of the blackbirds but won't finish it until they have fledged and left the nest. I've got two bits of video so far plus still photos, of course.
Today's blip is a collage with the top photo showing the male blackbird feeding the young. I screenshot this from the video I took.
Bottom photo of the chicks today, 22 March. They have lots of plumage now but not yet ready to fledge.
The male blackbird, in the video, also seemed to be picking up the chick's faeces and swallowing them. I looked this up and it appears to be quite common. Not only for keeping the nest clean but the faeces is enclosed in a sac and has nutritional value as the chicks digestive system is not yet capable of taking all of the nutrient from the food.
I'm learning a lot from this exercise, and finding it fascinating.
When I do complete the video I'll post a link.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.