CathyH

By CathyH

Sylamore Cemetery

Older cemeteries fascinate me. I am drawn to the stories that can be discovered, the history, the family connections and the artistry of the headstones and statues.

Today I went to three cemeteries with older gravestones dated in the late 1800’s to early 1900’s. I am in awe of the workmanship put into hand carved gravestones. I’m intrigued by the symbolism of the carvings.

Even though I have been to many cemeteries there is usually something I have never seen before. This time it was a petrified log about 12 ft long covered in moss. It looked like it had been placed in this family’s section. The section belongs to the family that donated the land for the cemetery. There must be a specific reason for that log to be placed there and where did the log come from? Or was the log there first?

My natural curiosity has me looking and reading markers for the unusual.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.