Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Golden sky

A lovely start but a very wet afternoon and early evening I noticed the lighting change and spotted this beautiful sky. So a tenuous AT entry as it's a daily repetition.

This morning we had a mild cognitive impairment research meeting. Very interesting and hearing different information. This afternoon I had a short meeting for another new project for the South West Secure Data Environment. Should be interesting and it feels like a lot of new things to learn about. The weather was atrocious and Mr T was anxious about me going out so I managed to get a little bit of bathroom coving done, not a lot as I needed to keep popping down as he wasn't talking to Jo, except for some rather sarcastic responses which is a change from the dementia. It's thankfully rare but challenging as he thinks he's being lied to. That mostly stems from a conversation he's had with himself, like me agreeing to go to the big pub behind us, and then changing the plans without even talking to him. I now have a Ring camera downstairs so I can give him space but keep a check on him, and let him calm down/realise even though he tells me he doesn't need me that actually he does.

In fact one of the main points that came out today was that dementia is not "just" memory loss. It affects balance, speech, mobility, sleep. Lewy body dementia affects the memory less, but it comes with visual hallucinations as does the sight loss and that contributes to so much confusion for Mr T.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.