Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Words that create pictures in my mind

I've been re-reading Wolf Hall if I've been struggling to get back to sleep in the night - it stops those thoughts that go circle around in my head and prevent me falling back into sleep.  I've been reading it less for the story and more in admiration for the way that Hilary Mantel uses words.  I've been highlighting a few passages where she uses words where I would use a photograph and she sets this scene beautifully with such an economy of words that I see it perfectly.

I'm writing this three days late (I'm struggling with Blips at the moment, in fact I'm struggling altogether and seem to tire by the afternoon and have little energy.). Wednesday was the camera club evening for the `Men v Women' competition, which I coordinated on behalf of the women.  I'm not sure if I mentioned that we chose our images following a get together on zoom and it was a collective decision on what we submitted.  (The original proposal had been that I, as team leader, should select.) After bragging , by the initiator of the event, that the men were this years winners by around 9 points, Sue corrected him and said by her calculations our scores were even - a fitting end to the day!  Their was an overall feeling among our group that our evening where we talked about our images as a group was time well spent and an evening we enjoyed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.