Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Daffs, not rosemary

It's early for me to be blipping - 5.30pm - but I'm mindful of the fact that the clocks go forward tomorrow night and I really need to start cultivating different sleep habits before the sun recovers from the brief respite and wakens me before 6am, and one move might be not to blip at midnight. Besides, it's supposed to prevent excessive weight gain if your body clock lets you sleep in the dark ... or something. Right now I'm still dealing with the fallout from Christmas (cake and puddings, both of which I only make at Christmas) and panettone, which is the delicious aftermath which is now finished, to say nothing of the Madeira holiday ...

So what did I do today? Ordered a birthday present online; paid the balance online of my next holiday; briefly considered booking connecting flights and a hotel and decided I didn't feel up to it; pored over the local council site for planning regulations (not for us!) ... and then Di rang and we arranged to go out and that's what I've been doing since lunch. We met at Benmore Gardens and climbed the hill at a greater rate than I do when I'm with Himself - Di has longer legs than I have and the advantage of being three years younger. I'm sure it's good for me - I was hot and and puffing on the top. Some of the pink rhododendrons are out, and there are hundreds of daffodils along the sides of the Redwood Walk, currently under remedial works to improve drainage. 

The heavens opened shortly after I'd returned to my car, so I took a detour up by the church to pick up Himself, who'd been practising the organ. There are too many events calling for more organ music these days - Easter isn't far away. Now he's making curry and I'm thinking I feel hungry, which I wasn't a short time ago. 

Blip is the daffodils I picked yesterday, remembering the day our Cyprus holiday was suddenly cancelled the day before we were due to leave home because the Covid regulations on the island were tightened and we'd have been stuck there. When we'd got over the combination of disappointment and sudden relief, we went the same walk as we did yesterday and I picked some to cheer us up in our almost-food-free house. They seem to me to be connected to three (or was it two?) forestry houses which stood where the muster point for the POL depot now is. Perhaps the small gardens didn't accommodate perpetual bulbs and the residents chucked them onto the foreshore. Anyway, there were a great many and I took only a few. 

Talking of Covid anniversaries: we were invited today to go for yet another booster jag in a couple of weeks. Any other ancients out there had the same? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.