Snowy Vista

It snowed a little more in the night, keeping the world very light and bright, even without the sun.
I snow-shoed up to the top of our local hill and then over to the edge of a small cliff with this rather lovely view.  I was attracted by the slightly abstract nature of the snow covered trees viewed from above and close up. See the extra to see what I mean.
The snowshoeing was hard work because so much snow has fallen and even with snowshoes I was sinking in up to 30 cm with every step. It took me well over an hour to get around what I consider to be my local circuit. However, there are no more heavy falls of snow forecast for the next few days so if I go out again it will be much easier on the now trodden trail.
There is so much snow that places I am very familiar with are hard to recognise. A large boulder we often climb up onto to sit and drink coffee is now hardly sticking out of the snow. A landmark fallen tree has completely disappeared beneath the snow.
We do live in a lovely place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.