CANDLELIGHT CONCERT - A TRIBUTE TO TAYLOR SWIFT

Spent the morning catching up with household chores.  Watched some TV this afternoon before getting a bus to Newcastle at around 4pm.  Had a bit of a wander then walked to Neville Hall.  I had a ticket for a Candlelight Concert in The Common Room there.  The concert was due to start at 6pm.  I got there early so I could get a good seat.

My ticket was for the middle section of seating and I sat on one of the end seats next to the centre aisle.   The place started filling up slowly .  6pm came and there were still people arriving.  There was a spare seat to the left of me and I was asked by an usher to move to it so that a latecomer could sit in my end seat.  I wasn't too keen on moving but I didn't want to make a fuss as the music was about to start.  But I did feel a bit annoyed - I got there early so I could choose a seat I liked and then had to give it up to someone who arrived at the last minute. 

Anyway --- I suppose it was more about the music than being able to see the performers properly.  But I could see two of them from my new seat.  It was a string quartet called String Infusion.  They were excellent. They played 13  Taylor Swift songs.  Photos were allowed before the concert and during the last song.  To take my blip shot I had to hold my phone above my head and just hope for the best. The song they played last was "Shake It Off".  We were encouraged to sing along and clap for this piece. ( by the way the candles weren't real - that would be a health and safety nightmare -  but the LED ones they used were lovely and they flickered and glowed just like real candles )

I have added an Extra collage showing the building where the concert was held and a " before the concert " shot showing the lovely stained glass window in The Common Room.  Its in memory of Nicholas Wood a locomotive engineer who was concerned with safety in the mining and engineering industries. The building  celebrates the region’s engineering history through education and engagement.

The concert lasted around an hour.  I had a short walk to my bus stop and a 15 min wait for the bus.  It was quite a chilly night so I was glad to get on the warm bus. 

Steps today - 7,981

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.