Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

A "Motherism"

For the benefit of any stray visitor - Mam was brought up by Victorian parents and, I suspect, addressed them in the supposed/alleged Victorian style of "Mother". & "Father" - BUT - since we never met either Granddad we've no male reference. 

I do know we grew up addressing the old lass as "Mother" rather than any of the more modern endearments.

Anyway - the "Motherism":-
"Some folk'll lend their bellies till out!"  (Need I translate?)

Note to self - in future put photo on computer and check clarity prior to eating.

On my most recent victualling trip to Cranstons I bought the makings of a "Fish π ".  As I was doing so I mention my latest culinary adventure with her Sardines.  Due to a misunderstanding she said "We sell them." and produced these.

Being the sort of bloke who'll try anything at least once I said 
"Aye, why not?"  and added them.  AND  "Lent my belly to them". 
Just F. Y. I.  I would have them again, but probably make them a meal with Salad in Summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.