The second half of life..

By twigs

Paparoa Point

Woke to a beautiful, sunny day - clear skies and warmth.  Perfect.  A slow - very slow - drift down the coast trying to decide where I would stay tonight.  Last night's aurora was apparently very visible in many (south facing!) places which confirmed for me that the few night shots I took last night that appeared to have an odd glow to them, were in fact picking up some of the aurora activity.........just the wee problem of the big hill blocking most of the activity out.  So, I was hopeful for a repeat performance tonight.  I looked in to Ward Beach where the warmth of the sun got the better of me and I nanna-napped for a good hour-plus.  When I woke, the blue skies had turned to cloudy, the temperatire had dropped a bit and it just didn't look much like it was going to be good aurora conditions.  I use an app to help to identify when good aurora tiems might be, but my location meant there was no connection so no way of checking.  I followed my gut instinct, left Ward Beach and headed south towards Kaikoura to a lovely wee spot that has oodles of space for plenty of campers.  It also had a rather lovely light that showed up - oddly - in the east as the sun set revealing these anticrepuscular rays (I had to google it to find out!)  Perfect blip for a very cruisey day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.