The second half of life..

By twigs

Spider's nest

A reasonable night's sleep which is always a bonus for a first night away in the van whilst the body readjusts to a 'new' bed.  Headed away from Pelorus a bit before 10.00 still not really sure just which way I would go, where I would stop or where I would stay tonight.  In an act of reckless abandon the van decided to turn onto the Queen Charlotte Drive 'shortcut' to Picton.  It wasn't far along the way that I realised how foolish Gerty van's decision was.........road cones and notices about road repairs brought me to my senses - I remember seeing the reports from this area following the big rains in August and I didn't fancy shimmying my way around ultra narrow bends in Gerty.  Sense prevailed and I headed through Blenheim.  Took a wee detour to the Wairau Lagoons where I spent an enjoyable time meandering - though not too far - in the hope of seeing some wildlife.  There were a few birds, but there were heaps more spiders nests.  I liked this one - it's almost transparent and I can  only assume that the teeny tiny spiderlings that appear to still be within the nest didn't make it to adulthood.  I also liked the contrast between the vicious looking barbed wire and the rather attractive looking curly bit.  On then (slowly!) to Marfells Beach, scene of a few previous visits.  Rather annoyingly, the aurora 'forecast' was looking good for tonight - if only Marfells faced south, not north!  Fingers crossed for a repeat show over the next few nights when I will be sure to select a south facing camp site.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.