pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Shrine on

A slightly difficult day professionally.

Following the school run, I was down to Leigh Sports Village for a quarterly team meeting. I could have done without it, but attendance was mandatory as we had to view a video from corporate and talk about it and agree on how we would embody the values espoused therein. My main point was that we were already doing that, so maybe we should just document our existing efforts, which seemed to meet with broad agreement.

One colleague is in a spot of bother and on the basis of a presentation that was delivered today (at moments it was toe curling), unless socks are pulled up, I fear for the longevity of his time with us. A few of us have tried to help him along and cajole and empathise etc., but to paraphrase an old cliche, this particular horse has now been dragged kicking and screaming to the water, I hope for his sake, that he is able to at least take a sip. 

Then to use another cliche, “people in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones”, by the time I had got home at 3.30pm, I had lost two clients! One was pretty much expected - I had inherited them and despite my best efforts, I just could not get any form of rapport going with them - and the other was also not a complete shock, but disappointing nonetheless - “I love dealing with you and it’s not about the money”?! THAT’S ALL I HAVE!!!

I was glad when 5pm came and headed over to my parents home, who were having my niece for a sleep over. I was delighted to hear that they had gone back for a second viewing at their previously rejected “unicorn” house and being in a better frame of mind had decided that it is exactly what they are looking for and have put in an offer - they’ll have to wait until Monday now to see if it has been accepted.

Another positive was the arrival of an exhausted and recently drained of blood, LadyV, who to her credit did manage to stay awake for some Chinese food and two episodes of Ted Lasso before falling asleep on my shoulder.

You may say “emergency blip”, but I say pictorial reference of “Shrine to Router”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.