A bit posh . . .

. . . for a fish shop. It always was - for us anyway. We queued for takeaways and sat in the car. Except at Christmas when our children were young and we had the treat of eating in the restaurant and after the meal the girls could go and get a present from under the enormous tree.

This is of course Harry Ramsdens at Guiseley. Except it isn’t any more it is called Wetherby Whaler. And the car park has been sold off to Aldi and the steps where we used to queue are blocked off. And the reason I did not post a picture of the building is because I really did not recognise it, so you get the inside, which I do recognise, complete with the pillars and chandeliers. 

Harry Ramsden opened his original Fish and Chip Shop in December of 1928 paying £150 for a humble wooden hut near the tram stop at White Cross in Guiseley. I have a feeling that my grandparents might have been there around this time as they were amongst the first people in Bradford to have a car and they loved to go out for drives. I remember many years later going with them as a child, queueing and sitting in the car to eat. My grandma had a metal box in which I think she must have kept cutlery and serviettes. By then of course there was a restaurant, but we never, as far as I can remember, went in there. 

So today we made the trip and sat in the restaurant . . . and the fish and chips were just as good as they were (with proper mushy peas!), despite the change of owner, name and everything outside. When a guy started playing the piano (you might be able to see him in the photo), we were back in time. 

Jeanne had a similar trip a few days ago. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.