A cock pheasant searching for food on the patio

The pheasants are back. I heard their loud squawks which gave me faior warning. I didn't see the cock until much later, which suggests that they are visiting several of the wilder back gardens or staying inthe scrub on the hillside behind.

They wisely look under the bird feeders for seeds that have dropped as many birds are quite careless when pecking for the seeds. when i first saw this bird it flew up in to the old dead rhus tree about five yards down the garden below the patio as there is a now defunct feeder still hanging from one of the old branches. 

It sniffed around and then realised their was no food in the ffeder. It then perched on an adjacent branch, spread its wings and dived down to the ground. I've added it as an 'Extra'. It took me by surprise so the picture isn't sharp but I'm glad I saw it from my study window once again

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.