One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Comic relief

or the Merry Play of a Nihilist 

I thought I'd go for some light thespian entertainment at the Gate theatre, to cheer me up. 
By some phenomenal stroke of luck, I managed to catch the New Electric Ballroom by Enda Walsh. 
It's Beckett without the longish boring bits. And with perfectly timed nuggets of comic relief, to allow the audience to laugh at all the misery. 
The acting was superb. Ninety minutes of disconnecting from the grimness of reality to immerse oneself into the hopelessness of a claustrophobic world with no future. And acute loneliness. 

It was beautiful and funny and totally deprived of any hope. 

I wonder if Enda Walsh and 'imindoors are Siamese twins separated at birth. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.