Rusty Tailfeathers

We have two big ibis (ibises?) in our garden made out of recycled cooking oil cans. Despite a coating of clear sealer, there doesn't seem to be any way to keep them from rusting, but I guess that is part of their charm.

We had a lovely sunny, if not at all warm, day yesterday with cloudless blue skies, making it hard to believe that another storm was predicted to blow through last night and today. But blow through it did, raining torrentially this morning. John was forced, once again, to drive the car down the driveway to get the newspaper. I often joke that we did things backward when we moved here from a place where we could walk everywhere. We often drive to the neighbors' house two doors down because their driveway is as steep as ours and the street is pitch black at night, but I really didn't think we would really ever wind up driving to the bottom of the driveway and back.

Spike doesn't really like to go out in the rain either, so he gets bored and starts pushing his Kong under the furniture and growling at us to get it out again. This is a fun game for him but for me not so much. I'm finding it more difficult to train John than Spike not to encourage this. Needless to say, we've all been cooped up together too much and are starting to get on each other's nerves. Hopefully we will have a respite tomorrow.

I worked on the heart quilt, thought about how to make dinner out of very little, and very little else. We always have eggs so I think I'll make an omlette. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.