Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Daisy Abstract

We have purple and white African daisies that grow over the wall in front of our house. It’s a planting area that has been evolving over the time we’ve lived here, and I thought it was a nice palate of colors for today’s abstract challenge.

John had a medical appointment at 8 this morning on the other side of town. We’ve had no reason to be anywhere that early anymore so John decided he’d better set an alarm. I was sure I would wake up in time, if not earlier, but as it turned out, we were both awake at about 4. As a consequence, it has felt like a very long day. Especially as I had just fallen asleep again when John was in the shower and the alarm went off.

Caroline came and cleaned the house like it hasn’t been cleaned since the deep clean-up after the fire. She said she ‘did’ all the doors. I think I have just come to accept the dust on the doors as part of the decor. She also got rid of all the cobwebs around the ceilings that I haven’t noticed until the last five weeks when I’ve been spending a lot more time looking at the ceiling. I’m always telling people that our house is tidy but not clean. Now it is both.

I had a conversation with my physical therapist about why her ministrations are so painful. She said because it is a ‘big’ surgery which is still healing. It seems counterintuitive to crank on bones and muscles that are still healing but I guess I’m lucky that I am what Kathy calls a fast healer.

I have achieved the goal for flexion so only have to work on maintaining it, but have a little way to go on extension, probably since I haven’t been able to fully extend my leg for years. Old habits die hard even with a new knee.

I am really looking forward to Friday. Maybe I will even feel like celebrating the end of the week with a glass of wine. For some reason wine hasn’t had its usual appeal. Maybe I’ll try a test run tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.