Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Trail House Bar

It was 9:15 in the morning, so not too many patrons at the bar (although I have  seen people drinking beer there when we were definitely on coffee.) Russian River Brewery released their Pliny the Younger this week,  an annual event with a limited release of a triple IPA. I am not a beer drinker,  and am not at all tempted by hoppy beer, but people come from all over and line up for blocks in the rain for a chance at a 10 oz glass of the stuff. Obviously it's about more than the beer. You may notice that Trail House has Pliny the Elder permanently on tap.. We used to see the guy delivering the kegs, but haven't seen him in awhile.

We stuck with coffee this morning as the troops gathered for our Friday gathering. Dan brought his mother who is a charming lady with absolutely no short term memory. She's not shy about asking questions and everybody was very patient with her, including Tobi who has had her as a house guest all week..

After a glitch yesterday when I couldn't get the Peloton shoes clipped onto the bike, I finally had my first ride today after Dana came over and stomped the cleats into place. I decided on the ride through the Scottish Highlands, which was my introduction to the Peloton at Dana's house. The ride was easier than getting my feet into the shoes whilst attached to the bike, but I managed it all by myself and am sure it will get easier as the shoes soften up a bit. It has been pouring rain and quite cold all day, so the ability to have an indoor bike ride was doubly appealing.

I'm still waking up a lot at night but feel that it is more a reversion to my old sleep pattern rather than being jolted awake by pain in my leg. I fell asleep pretty quickly again most of the time and feel reasonably energetic today. The ability to do some aerobic exercise helps, as does the fact that riding the bike is quite painless. My children know best! 

Caroline found Spike's ball underneath the stove yesterday and he has been carrying it around all day. He of course doesn't know why, so it will probably undermine whatever training I have managed, but I have been throwing it down the long hall for him all day. It takes some interesting bounces and detours but he's pretty good at tracking it down.

We had planned a trip to the nursery for a little field trip/outing/change of scene so that we can recharge some of our many pots with new flowers but rain has put paid to that plan for today....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.