Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Road Construction...

...what road construction? It was raining earlier today (it still is) when I drove (all by myself...woohoo!) to get my hair cut. The Sonoma County roads are some of the worst in the state when it comes to maintenance, yet the fixes are nonsensical. They repave roads that don't seem to need it. They repave others in 100 foot sections leaving the sections in between untouched. They close roads without suggesting any alternate routes, or set up traffic cones and flag people that make driving a worse hazard than before. No matter what they are doing, it seems to take forever!

Although it wasn't raining very hard, it was apparently enough to close down whatever work was planned for this road...a  curving one that wends it's way through a fairly densely built suburban neighborhood. The number of single purpose, large road construction vehicles stretches around the corner and out of sight. I can't quite picture how all of them could possibly be deployed at once in this neighborhood. There was a car behind me so I didn't have time to focus my camera  on the desired subject, so I got a clear shot of my car dashboard rather than the construction vehicles, cozied up to the curb protected by dozens of pylons and cones. I only got the one picture and haven't braved the elements again today.

There is a section of Highway 12, a main east/west artery, which was repaved with some kind of low maintenance concrete, but  is now closed down again while they tear out all the new concrete which was installed wrong and do it over....

Biden has pledged that the federal government will pay to replace the   
bridge at a Delaware port which was destroyed by an enormous cargo container ship when the overloaded vessel lost power and ran into one of the pylons. It is not clear, however, how Biden is going to manage this if funds to do it have to be approved by Congress. In an election year Congress accomplishes even less than they do in any other given year. A  bridge crucial to the smooth working of the national supply chain should be a non-partisan issue, but so should many other things that are being held hostage by the Republicans.
 
I think I'll just go ride through the Austrian countryside on my Peloton. The roads are never bumpy in Peloton Land....and it doesn't rain either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.