W-I-D-E on Wednesday: Machinery

I amazed myself again today by actually remembering to think about the Widwed challenge before going for my morning walk! So I took a route which went over this level crossing on the main East Coast railway line to Scotland. I wanted to get a wide shot of the barriers and was lucky to find that they were down when I arrived. The machinery which operates them is mainly enclosed in the boxes at the sides, but you can see the counterbalance weights and the cables which connect to the barriers to raise and lower them.

As you can see I also took a vertically wide shot of one of the barriers when it had opened, to show it in more detail.

As the express trains thunder across here at over 100 mph I wouldn't like to tresspass while the barriers are down!

Thanks as always to Bobsblips for looking after the Widwed challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.