... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Crows: More Colourful Than They Look

Better in large ("L").

Another shaky day with the long lens: this is definitely going to take some practice! I was very pleased with some of my shots, but had to throw quite a few away because they weren't crisp enough. It is also partly because it was another very grey day, and partly because most of the action took place in the little bit of pond which is amongst trees (and so is very much darker)...

I had a lovely time at the pond: I felt less nervous about the lens switch (perfect excuse for a ristretto...) but still felt self-conscious about carrying the large lens. I saw the cootlings (a pair of tiny ones, and a single larger one), moorhenlings (there are four, and they're very shy), but only saw 4 tiny ducklings today. They may have been a different set because they were (I think) even more tiny than Monday's ones. There are quite a lot of places where the birds can hide out of sight on Wandsworth's pond...

I back blipped yesterday's NHM picture this morning as I had a long day on Monday, and just went to bed when I got home.

p.s. On the map it looks as though I'm standing in the lake, but there are actually wetlands-esque board walks across that part of the water (the crow was perching on one of the board walk's posts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.