Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Edward Burne-Jones

Today I had my first trip to London since my redundancy nine years ago. When I worked in London I never really had the time to visit some of the great church stained glass windows. I started at St Mary le Bow with its very striking early 1960s John Hayward windows. Then it was a short walk over to St Etheldreda's in Holborn which has an excellent east window by Jospeh Nuttgens. Final stop was Holy Trinity in Chelsea, known as the Cathedral of the Arts & Crafts movement. When I arrived the church was closed for the installation of a new sound system but I spotted the vicar emerging from a side door and persuaded him to let me in. Most of the windows are by Christopher Whall but I've chosen the astonishing huge east window designed by Edward Burne-Jones and manufactured by William Morris & Co. in 1890 which contains 48 figures of Apostles, Patriarchs, Kings and Prophets. The window is so large that this is a composite of three images.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.