Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

The Elves are out

A walk into town this morning for some shopping.  I spotted this little door on a tree near the library; looks like some Elves or Fairies might have taken up residence but I'm not sure which as I tried the door and it was firmly locked.  I rather like the way the tree is gradually taking over the metal fence; part of it has already disappeared inside new growth.  I wonder how long ago the fence was erected?

In other news, the supermarket in town, which burned to the ground in June 2020, finally reopened today.  We needed a few things so went down for a look.  I fully expected there to be a queue to get in but I was amazed how much of a queue there was!  It went past the supermarket, down the road past the Community Centre, and disappeared out of view where there was a bend in the road about 200 metres away.  Needless to say, we didn't join it but went for some other shopping and a coffee before returning later.  By that time it was easy to get in but there was a nice atmosphere with lots of food giveaways and a camera crew from the local ITV news.  We were also in time to get the 'Goody Bag' given to the first 1000 customers; a very generous bag of items from the store.  We'll use lots of it but a few things like tea and coffee from brands we don't use, a cake and a pot of jam will be passed to the local food bank.  I've added an extra of the front of the queue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.