Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

That mellow saxophone

A few years ago in Rome we were walking near the Trevi Fountain when we passed a 'street artist' who was putting the final touches to a sand sculpture of a reclining dog.  It looked as though a lot of skill and talent had gone in to creating the sculpture.  We continued walking and went towards the Spanish Steps where we saw another street artist with an identical 'reclining dog' sand sculpture, just adding the final touches.  I started looking out for them after that and I think I counted six identical ones; clearly they were mass produced and you then sat on the ground next to it with a small pot of loose sand and it looked like it was all your own work.

I was reminded of this last week in London when we went past a few buskers.  I don't think I heard many good ones but we did come up to one guitarist who sounded quite accomplished.  Unfortunately, as we approached he stopped playing his guitar and took his hands off it completely to do something else.  The music continued as though nothing had happened.

I certainly couldn't accuse this one of anything like that.  He was playing against a backing track but it was definitely him playing the sax and he was very good too.  I looked up his link on Facebook and it seems he is part of a band but also busks in quite a few places in the south and east of England.  If you happen to come across him it's worth stopping for a while to listen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.