Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Threatened

This is a showy orchis (orchid) per the Seek app and is a threatened native plant.  Imagine my delight in actually seeing one in the wild.   The trail to Station Cove Falls was also delightful as many, many wildflowers were blooming.  We saw jack in the pulpit, mayapple, pinxter flower(wild pink azalea), drooping trillium as well as red and yellow trillium, bashful wakerobin (the first pink flower in the collage), yellow, white and purple violets, Carolina sweetshrub, and more.  We also saw a really pretty pink dogwood tree.   And butterflies!

After we left the waterfall area we decided to go by Devils Fork Park about 10 miles away to see if the threatened Oconee Bell flowers were still blooming.  The ranger told us that there were a few so we did another walk to the area she suggested to look for them.  Along the way, a couple of tiny dwarf irises as well as the tiny white bells.  

I may have to go back to name all the flowers tomorrow when I am not so tired.  

A good looonnngggg day!!   12 hours  with half of those hours driving.   I will sleep really well tonight.  Risee may not want to go with me again!!   

We couldn't have asked for a better forest therapy day.   

I feel better in my mind about the part time job offer also. 

I did check on my baby wrens when I got home.  They were sleeping and it looks like there might be four instead of three but I am still not exactly sure.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.