Still sick

I’m still knocked flat by a cold, but I spent the day listening to a series of podcasts called Quiet Landscapes by the gentle-voiced, calming Margaret Soraya (podcasts available both in the UK and the USA). I “met” her through reading WalkingMarj’s reports on Soraya’s workshops. I went from her podcasts to her Instagram and then her Youtube channel, and from there I fell into watching a number of Fujifilm tutorials on how to use the 90% of my camera that I’ve never understood, things like histograms, AF-C, manual focus assist, “Zone” as opposed to “Wide Tracking,” and on and on. If I remember a tenth of what I watched today I’ll consider it miraculous, as I feel as though my brain waves must be nearly flat, and I drifted off to sleep several times.

Here you have my bedroom window and Himalayan salt lamp (supposed to aid healing), and the moody clouds we’ve had in Portland today. I’m grateful to be a retired person who doesn’t have to show up to teach in this condition. The very best thing about being retired is this, I think: when you’re sick, you can just stay home. 

I made myself a lovely big pot of carrot and potato soup in coconut milk with lots of hot chili flakes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.