Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Silver Birch

I'm sure many know that frustration of the camera's image not showing the scene you saw before taking the photo.  This silver birch seemed to almost shimmer in the diffuse light compared to its background, jumping out at me as I drove past.

I went back after my visit to one of our properties with a private water supply and took this picture, but on viewing it on the computer screen I knew I was going to need some additional editing.  I'm not a lover of colour pop but on this occasion it at least removed the distraction of the green foliage behind.  I'm sure it is because of our binocular vision that we can separate these subjects from their background so easily.

The visit to the property was eventful as I arrived to find they had a power cut.  This prevented being able to inspect their filtration equipment for the water from the borehole because it was behind a garage roller door and the manual opener didn't work.  An hour later the owner was discussing the problem with the engineer on the phone and he just suggested we lift the door from the bottom! It opened with ease.  To say the owner was a bit miffed to find it was that easy to get into the garage was an understatement!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.