Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Seasoned

A working day, from home.

I also 'enjoyed' my first swim for a very long time, something I didn't think I would ever say having been a regular swimmer for more than 20 years.  I was pleased not to sink to the bottom of the pool straight away.  I even seem to have remembered how to swim, but the pain in my arms after just a couple of lengths suggested that I have a lot of swimming to do before I return to being a regular swimmer.

I managed 32 lengths (half a mile) and even my arms started to ease their rigour as I kept swimming. I got chatting with another swimmer in the lane.  He told me he was training for a half marathon - well over 1,000 lengths of the 25 metre pool we were in.  He has done it before and it will take over 8 hours to complete.  I must admit I had never heard of this kind of ultra distance.

At the end of the day I had again not taken out my camera so you have some new potatoes, seasoned and ready for cooking for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.