Gilding the Lily, er . . . Sparkly Frozen Bubble

When we got out of bed in the morning, the temperature was in the mid-20s F and conditions were calm. I decided it was time to try to make some frozen bubbles. I suspect that this might have been the last time, with it being very late March and all.

The bubbles took a while to freeze, so I got to spend plenty of time with them during the phase where rainbows were dancing across the surface. I also had the opportunity to execute an experiment I'd been thinking about, which is to say: applying nail glitter to the bubble surface.

Quite a few years ago, I had bought a set of tiny bottles of colorful glitter to be used on top of nail polish. My idea was that I would gently sprinkle it on top of my bubbles to increase the amount of color, sparkle, and shine.

I blew my bubbles onto a clear plastic lid for easy clean-up, and then gently dropped a few glitters onto them, and the bubbles did not pop. Above you may see one of my sets of bubbles, with some green nail sparklies on them. I've occasionally been accused of gilding the lily, and with this latest effort, I pronounce myself guilty as charged!

It's my custom to include a soundtrack song and this one seemed to fit for a lily gilding gal. I found myself singing along: I want to paint the paint with paint!  Here are Kevin Bacon and Jimmy Fallon, with First Drafts of Rock: Paint It Black, by the Rolling Stones. I hope it makes you laugh. It did me! Paint paint paint paint paint paint paint colors colors colors colors colors!


P.S. My canonical frozen bubble tip list may be found here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.