Tram shed

As we left Saltaire this morning I stopped to take a picture of the tram shed on the main road. I have always known it as ‘the tram shed’ even though I never knew trams as tram routes were converted to trolley bus operations in 1939 and it was then officially the trolley bus depot.

I remember trolley buses though as they were still being used in the 1960s and 1970s, apparently Bradford was the last place in the country to abandon them. Funny how now, half a century later, it is realised that, running on electricity, they were a much better option than vehicles using fossil fuels.

The tram shed itself has remained in its original state, although over the years being used for different things. I’m sure I remember it was once a children’s play centre. Anyway a few years ago it was taken over by SALT Beer factory - a brewery, bar and restaurant. Gordon looked in one evening as he returned from a walk and said it was full of people, so it is obviously a successful venture. Good for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.