Here we go again!

By MI

Bibliothèque Marguerite Durand (BMD)

A run this morning, some work at home and then I took the 62 bus to the BMD. I haven't worked there yet on this trip and it was nice be reminded of what a great space it is, with such good feminist energy! I'm reading some interesting documents and will be back again next week. 

This photo shows a portrait of Marguerite Durand by Jules Cayron, painted in 1897, the year that she founded the newspaper La Fronde. She was an important French feminist and the archives she left to the city of Paris when she died in 1931 make up the heart of the collection of the library. My photo also shows a display of some new acquisitions propped up on the card catalogue.

J and I had a nice dinner tonight and I've been catching up on lots of good news from back home... C got a great summer job in a gallery in Montreal, some dear colleagues' promotions and tenure were announced, and I was also able to watch my niece in a dance competition on a livestream tonight - she's amazing and it was very cool to be able to see it! 

J did a long 16km run along the left bank of the Seine, from the BnF Mitterrand all the way to the Pont du Garigliano. He reports that running along the quais on the right bank is better, in case anyone needs to know that. Fewer cobblestones and just generally nicer. He had to face the "giboulées de mars" at the end of the run, an expression we learned today for the passing showers we've been having a lot of lately.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.