Lunch

After a good sleep, I headed out for a run in the Tiergarten, a large area of parkland in the middle of Berlin. One end of it is only a short distance from my hotel, and by the time I'd reached the opposite end - the Brandenburg Gate - it was raining. I'd only run continuously for the first 4km but was reasonably quick and, afterwards, I still ran hard for some segments. 

I got back, soaking wet, and just had time to cool down and have a shower before heading for Nikolassee. There I was picked up by M, who drove us to Potsdam and treated me to a meal in a nice restaurant. From there we had a brief walk to the "Bridge of Spies" which was the border between West Berlin and East Germany, and is still painted in two different shades of green (see extra). Then we went to his house for coffee and cakes with his wife and their baby. Thus I finally got to see the house about which I'd heard a lot when they were renovating it in 2018.

I left at 17:00 and took the S7 back to my hotel, where I chilled and had a good chat with (daughter) L, who returns home from Brooklyn on Monday. 

There's still time to do something with my evening, but I'm tired. It may just be currywurst and bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.