Doctored

Today saw me play the role of external examiner for the first time, as mate M defended his thesis. Unlike the very private UK viva, this was attended by many colleagues, his mother, his wife and their six-month-old daughter, and ended with bubbly and cakes.

After lunch, I had a meeting with three folk from a major mathematical software company. They were pleased to announce that, after a year of talking to us and assessing our software, they will be integrating it into theirs over the coming year.

I then headed to the Zuse Institute, our home-from-home in Berlin, where I spent a productive couple of hours with our ex-developer, learning how to debug her solver.

Finally I got a lift to the PhD celebration party at the pizza restaurant near where M lives.

A long but good day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.