SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Odyssey

With a good weather forecast and the use of our car (since A is away) I decided to have a change of scene and visit North Berwick. However, I forgot that you need to take the old A1 at Haddington, so ended up on the outskirts of Dunbar. I've never visited the town so, guided by Turf, I thought I'd have a spin around its centre and harbour (see extras). 

One route to North Berwick Law goes through East Linton, so I stopped off there for a walk in the countryside to the east of the town that passed Preston Mill (pictured). It's a very charming 18th century oatmeal mill. 

Once at North Berwick Law, I gave Django the breakfast that he'd spurned, and some water, before a quick trip up the hill (187m) down the far side (see extra) and back around it. Before deviating via Dunbar and East Linton, my idea had been to walk into North Berwick from the Law car park, along the beach - possibly via Tantallon Castle - and back. But I was too late/tired for all that - and maybe Django was tired, too! So, I drove into the town, and was lucky to find anywhere to park. We walked the West Beach and around the harbour, before returning to the car. 

Back home - at 16:30 - I was glad to have plenty of last night's porcini risotto in order to refuel. I considered going over to the Navaar for a pint if the City Vs Arsenal game got exciting, but it never did, and I had a nap. Which is a fair commentary on the game.

Now to give Django his fifth walk of the day: sixth if you count the short one he had before driving to East Lothian.

That's me finally caught up on Blip after a bit of a "lost week" due to having a lot of work to do, other things weighing on my mind, and Broadchurch as an escape in the evenings. Thanks Ottawacker, it was well worth watching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.