Another Sunday Train Ride

... but at the opposite end of the train this week.  My first guarding turn for six months.  Pleased to report that it all came back to me after the long gap.  Very much a Gentleman's Turn.  One round trip, no cleaning and a late start, 3pm, very late :-)   After what I'm told was a busy day, this late train was predictably quiet, being run as much as anything to allow earlier travellers a choice of return trips.  We did pick up two parties of walkers, so in the end had five groups of passengers in total ... a very easy turn indeed!   Enjoyed it.

Much earlier the shanty singers met the ukulele band to rehearse Wellerman which we are performing together next weekend.  After the comfort of singing together in a small room, it was very different in the school hall but went well once we had turned our volume up.  A late morning dog walk with C and the Megs led into lunch and there was time after to get half of the greenhouse shading in place before I needed to change into my railway uniform.   Not sure that it says much about my attitude to clothes but my uniform is about the smartest look I have!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.