Day Trip From America

I was at the Royal Festival Hall today for the annual Bach Choir performance of St Matthew Passion. It's a wondrous work which pulls at the emotions on a number of levels. A huge choir (including my bro-in-law and nice), orchestra, soloists and student choirs. It's a long work - almost three hours and the concert is structured with a long lunch interval.

At the break I wandered outside to the street food court on the South Bank and bought myself some lunch. Sitting on a bench I got talking to these delightful ladies. Didn't get their names but I established that the one on the left is an accountant from Florida and her friend is from Cincinattia and is a truck driver. I didnt get time to establish how they came to be friends.

It turns out they are staying in Paris for a couple of days so flew to England this morning and are flying back this evening. They are doing London on a hopper tourist bus (good idea).

Then, when back in France they fly to Rome for two nights in order to do Tuscany. Then back to the States. I told them I was impressed with their adventurous plan. 

And they gave me a very articulate explanation of how Trump benefited from the voting system although it was too complicated for me to try and recount it here.

Then back in to the RFH for part two - extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.