isbiJG

By isbiJG

WW2 Defences

I drove over to Lithgow today to buy some horse pellets and on the way back, I dropped in on the WW2 gun emplacements on the western outskirts of town.
Now, why would a sleepy rural town like Lithgow need extravagant defences like this? Well, it was to defend the Lithgow Small Arms Factory which, during WW2 stepped up weekly production to 4000 Lee Enfield rifles, 150 Bren guns and 50 Vickers machine guns. The obvious threat was from the Japanese who had already fired torpedoes in Sydney Harbour and bombed Darwin and Broome.
The gun in the blip is aimed directly at Lithgow hospital which at the time was a sheep paddock.
The extra is in the trenches and tunnels around the emplacements. My head is still in recovery mode after my misadventure in a similar tunnel in Victoria last week (see isbi’s extra last Thursday). I was extra careful as isbi wasn’t with me to carry out the emergency photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.