isbiJG

By isbiJG

The Peace Pole.

It was a big day at Blackheath Public School (K- 6) today, not only the last day before Easter holidays, but grandparents day, dedication of the Rotary Peace Pole and the opening of the new COLA (covered outdoor learning area).
Everybody was there (children, parents, g/parents and teachers) my role as local Rotary president, was to give a talk on the history, meaning and relevance of the Peace Pole. Yesterday, head office emailed a suggested text to read!! I’m not inexperienced at public speaking and Rule 1 is never read, especially when children are involved so like Frank Sinatra, I did it My Way and was well received.
Here I am with Kristin, the school Principal and Mina, the District Governor of our Rotary district which covers the Blue Mountains, northern half of Sydney and the Central Coast.
Mina and I were well rewarded with a sumptuous morning tea in the staff room after the event. No need for lunch after that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.