Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Detour

A detour on the way back from Wales saw me head into Liverpool to catch the Women’s Super League game between Everton and Tottenham Hotspur.

Given I started my day in Denbigh, it was pleasing that my route to the ground (walking from Rice Lane station) took me past the end of Denbigh Street (extra), a good indication of the amount of Welsh heritage evident in Liverpool.

After many years of playing at local non-league grounds in Marine and Southport, over the past few years Everton have developed Walton Hall Park Stadium as a clearer home, and better playing surface, for the women’s team. It certainly felt like an Everton ground,  all the usual songs were played over the PA and the teams entered the pitch to the theme from Z Cars.

A quick start from the blues saw us take the lead inside five minutes. Spurs equalised against the run of play to make it 1-1 at half-time. Everton completely dominated the second half, but didn’t make the break through until added added time, with Aggie Beever-Jones popping up with the winner in the 93rd minute. At the end of the game all the players came over for photos and autographs for the young fans - the team pride themselves in their accessibility which can only help build their following for the future.

Back in town I had time for another wander around before my train back, with one poetic alignment catching my eye (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.