LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Michelin star...

Not in this lifetime! Nor was it what was ordered.

Tonight was tough. It was very much a bad day for Mum. She didn't want to get up to have dinner. I tried and the nurse tried and we were both met with the same phrase that she just wants to die. That's incredibly hard to hear but at the same time I totally get it. 

This is not a good quality life. We have more compassion for our pets than our elderly in today's society and it makes me exceptionally sad to see my Mum this way. She has good days too, don't get me wrong but the bad ones are grim.

Sigh. I came home with a heavy heart. I keep trying to remember something I once saw in a meme along the lines of you can cry when they're gone, don't cry in front of them. It stuck with me but it's not easy to stick to all the time. Sad times. I hope tomorrow is netter for us all.

These are broken beds, lying in a corridor waiting repair or disposal. I'm sure there are similar in other corridors, only with patients in them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.