An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

2023...

The year that keeps on giving.

So far this year we've dealt with Alan's double pneumonia and my sepsis so of course it was only a matter of time before Covid paid a visit again.  Serves me right for saying I hoped all the health drama for 2023 was over.  I am beginning to think I must have been very bad in a past life.  I hope I enjoyed it!

Despite getting a negative result on Thursday, Alan's pal Andrew was due to come and stay for a few days so we thought we better double check.  David first and the line appeared almost immediately.  Me next, same result.  Thankfully when Penny tested Alan later in the day he was negative.  Hope he stays that way.

So a bit of a nothing day. I felt a bit better yesterday and although not as bad as I was, my nose is running again and the cough is annoying again.  D is a couple of days behind me I think and is definitely worse than me. 

After lunch I looked out the yarn for my next crochet project and got settled in the garden room ready to begin.  I was asleep within a few minutes, crochet hook in hand.  D went back to bed and also fell asleep immediately.  I woke up just before 6pm, still sitting bolt upright with crochet hook in hand.  D appeared a few minutes later, both of us rather dazed and confused (can't blame the covid for that, it seems to be our default position these days! :-)

Got a text from my best friend Agnes.  Her husband Adrian had covid over a week ago.  She'd been hoping he would be testing negative by the weekend as they had theatre tickets and had been really looking forward to the play.  Adrian did test negative on Saturday, but she tested positive.  What a shame.  Their daughter and fiancee enjoyed the play instead.

It's funny how covid has sort of dropped off the radar since it's no longer the media's daily obsession but there certainly seems to be a bit or a resurgence here.  We certainly know a few people who have it.  Thankfully symptoms seem to be that of heavy cold or upper respiratory infection and not the serious lung conditions that caused havoc at the start. I am hoping once we are clear we will now have immunity for a few weeks.  That seems to be how it worked previously but who knows.

On a more positive front, my creative mojo seems to be slowly returning.  The urge to paint has returned and I am itching to get stuck into some line and wash work as well as acrylics, ink painting and pastel pencils.  I'm even in the mood to take photos!  Not that you'd know that from today's blip!  But better blips are coming.  I hope :-)

When Vickie arrived this afternoon she brought delicious strawberry tarts to cheer us up.  It worked.  Some people are just so thoughtful and I am glad Alan is surrounded by them.  

Just remembered today is my real blip anniversary!  Who knew that twelve years ago today I would still be here and blipping.  Certainly not me! :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.