Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Communication

What a great theme but I'm glad I'm not the one who has to judge it!

So this is my take on the theme. Communication via books, music, photography, art, drawing, writing, satellite, television, speech, and of course the choices we make that communicate who we are.

Mr T has improved a bit more today. His eyes have some sparkle and I can make him laugh again. The hallucinations are causing havoc. Six bicycles went past, and multiple conversations with people. He will reach out to touch the things he can see and gets confused that it's just thin air. He found eating lunch (Shepherd's pie and vegetables) very tricky today. He can't see his bowl or food and often the spoon is waving around like a wizard's wand. I just guide his hand back to the bowl and help him load food onto the spoon. Usually after a few times of that he can find his rhythm but today it just wasn't happening. I think it's a bit of research needed as he got fed up and didn't want to finish his food. He was still hungry and accepted assistance to be fed. Because the swallowing process starts when food is moving from plate to mouth I always ask him ready before every spoonful to minimise choking. I can't imagine how it must be to put food into one's mouth without actually deciding to have broccoli or meat from the plate. A lucky dip of food.

I rescheduled my guitar lesson this morning as I had a disagreement with a knife on Saturday evening when emptying the dishwasher. It bled a lot, and is right in crease below my middle finger fingertip and I can't fully bend it and the flap of skin catches on the strings.

While Mr T was sleeping I made the best of the sunshine. I used some of the greenhouse bits and the cover to make a lean to shelter behind the garage, and a rough and ready sort out. I have a table there so gives me somewhere to pot up and fill up the bird feeders, plus looks an awful lot tidier. I wasn't sure how many bits I would need and ended up with a spare greenhouse. I did a live chat with Argos. I have to say the lady far exceeded my expectations and it's so good that some companies still have excellent customer service. She arranged for a collection this evening (and no charge as he was on a delivery round) and even refunded my original delivery payment.

I also planted some cosmos, poppy, sweet pea and night scented stock seeds. Having done the work yesterday to remove the acer tree and set up some of the greenhouse shelves I now have a great area for the propagators. Plus in the winter seedlings can grow and get covered if it gets really cold. 

No sign yet of any sunflower seeds germinating.

I love being out in the garden and I really can't wait for the wheelchair and new door to get Mr T outside. It was 28 deg C in the summer house this afternoon even with the doors open. I'm tired and it's been difficult at times today but I'm content. Seeing a bit of sparkle back in Mr T's eyes was a real boost, as well as sunshine, a boost for us both.

Have done the final art class tonight and mostly worked on the nose. I'm probably going to leave it as it is. I have mostly done the nose and I could fiddle and tweak the colours but actually I want to try what I've learnt on a new painting, and like with old photos it's nice to have something that is a record of that learning process.

If you get to the end of this without falling asleep I salute you! And that's my communication for the day! Over and out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.