Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

First clematis

I bought a clematis bulb/root/plant last year and put it in a pot to get it started growing.  It only grew a little and I figured it was not  liking the pot.   Over winter, I moved the pot in a sunny but protected place.  It survived.

A few weeks ago...maybe mid February when we had that really warm spell...I noticed it was growing!    So I watched it and as it was still growing I decided to put it in the ground by the back steps so it could vine on the railing post if it ever got that big.    It is only about 20 inches tall but it had one bud come out and today it bloomed.  

Never give up.

In a related plant story, my hubby was in the yard with me and he saw something growing in the big flower bed where I had wildflowers last year and have planted zinnia seeds this year.   The plant is green leaves and leafy so I just assumed it was something that was coming up from last year.   Nope...he had thrown turnip seeds out there last fall when he planted his feed plot for the deer at his hunt camp.    Which may be why the deer are liking that flower bed...fresh greens!     So I am going to watch them a little longer to see what happens.  There are over a dozen plants coming up! 

Of course if the deer keep standing in my flower bed, I will pull them up!!

Don't forget tomorrow is Tiny Tuesday TT409- Circles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.