Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

In homage

I think you know who I'm channelling here.

This is the mind-boggling reversible roof over Amsterdam Centraal railway station, my last view before we left for a very long rail journey home. 
Happy but tired.
We had half a day to kick around in the city before we needed to check in, so we bimbled about all over the place making new discoveries for future visits.

I was reduced to tears only once this morning, which must be a record.
I frequently experience more emotion than I can contain, and the excess tends to materialise in the form of facial cascades. This is completely normal for me, though witnesses are often concerned for my happiness.
I can perform a “Tivoli” equally quickly through either joy or disappointment. 
It's how I am.
We've been staying in Oudezijds Achterburgwal, which a nano-second of Googling will tell you is Red Light Central. We've loved it.
But this morning I was heartbroken to be walking amidst a coach-load of tourists from far-beyond Europe who were shuffling past the live display windows right up close, pointing and laughing at the sex workers inside.
How very dare they!
It was exactly the same heartbreak I had felt when visiting Anne Frank's house.
Eight individual personalities forced to live together in tiny circumstances with no peronal space nor freedom.
Yes, those situations are entirely different, but the way I react to them emotionally is equal.

Separately, Blippo has found a girlfriend, and in all honesty, I can describe her as an oil-painting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.