Living my dream

By Mima

Louis

I wonder who Louis was, or is? And I have always wondered at the compulsion of some people to carve their names in stone, wood or anything else to hand. While I’ve never done the same, I do love finding old graffiti here and there, particularly when there are dates attached, commemorating who knows what.

My favourite graffiti of all time is in Maeshowe in Orkney, where Viking warriors sheltered from a storm 1000 or so years ago. They were there long enough to scrape runic inscriptions on the walls of the already ancient chambered tomb. Among other things and in time honoured tradition one of them celebrated his love, writing “Ingeborg is the fairest of them all”. 

Back to today, this is the view under the bridge over the Waiereka Creek at the bottom of the hill from Chez Mima. Bean was splashing around behind me, showing no sign of wanting to move on, so I sat on the grass and appreciated the moment.

Sourdough has been baked today, milk has been collected and pasteurised, and I’ve shifted 12 barrowloads of compost from various piles on the property into the new raised bed. I’ll water it thoroughly tomorrow, then plant the tea bushes.

I decided that after all the hefting of compost, a session splitting firewood might be one job too many. Instead I sat on the deck with a cup of roobois tea and my dog.

Discussion about the Trump circus entertained me in a podcast for a couple of minutes. But already I’ve had enough of it. I’m going to be avoiding the international news for a wee while.

In complete contrast, Jacinda Ardern is due to give her valedictory speech in parliament this evening. That will definitely be worth listening to. She continues to be the politician I admire most in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.