Neon

Japan - Day 12: Kamakura

A spot of temple-hopping today in this old feudal capital, a one hour train ride out of Tokyo. The place was swarming with hundreds of school kids, who had been given some set questions to ask any willing westerner and were then tasked with getting a photo with said tourist (as 'proof' I guess). So yours truly has featured in a number of Japanese kids' photos today! I wonder if any of them blip??

One of the main draws is the Great Buddah, which was pretty awe-inspiring. I was going to blip this but decided to represent modern Japan today. I am staying in an area of Tokyo called Shinjuku which epitomises your neon-lit, Blade-Runner-esque urban landscape:

I've... seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those... moments... will be lost in time, like tears... in... rain. Time... to die...

Now where did I put that paper unicorn? ....

Again, thanks for stopping by my page yesterday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.