The second half of life..

By twigs

Diamond Harbour & Purau bay

Considering the location, I had a remarkably good night's sleep - I'm obviously settling into van life again.  Woke to beautiful sunshine and decided in an instant that I would have my breakfast coffees up on Godley Head, a place I haven't been to before.  The drive up was less than half an hour and the views along the drive were absolutely glorious.  Unfortunately, the road was very narrow with a very steep downward slope on one side so I daren't stop in case another vehicle came along.  As it turned out, the only vehicles I saw were all parked (all 3 of them!) but there were heaps of cyclists and walkers - clearly a very popular spot.  The DoC campground up there is closed due to some risk of asbestos contamination from some of the old World War II Military installations but it's a place I've added to my want-to-stay list when (if?) it does re-open.  The bird life kept me amused for a while (extras), as did a long chat to a chap about the freedom campervans provide (whilst we watched a flock of sheep do what sheep do - follow one another...........in this case from one hillside to another hillside about 300m across the road.  I don't know why the chicken crossed the road, and neither do I know why these sheep crossed the road, unless they too tend towards thinking the grass is greener over there.)  Back down the hill around lunchtime then a drive round another skinny, wiggly road to Diamond Harbour for a few supplies then back to a lovely, quiet spot at Orton Bradley Park in Charteris Bay.  This area has some absolute gems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.