The second half of life..

By twigs

Best day of the break so far I think.......gorgeous, warm weather, meeting interesting people and great photo opps.

Started with a walk through part of Orton Bradley Park where I stayed last night.  What a gem of a place!  Part old England, part, NZ farm, part cafe and kiddies entertainment and part mountain bike park.  It's a working farm but they run a bunch of other activities too (such as hosting campervans for overnight stays) and whilst I didn't get to check out the cafe (closed for winter) I did get to enjoy a lovely walk.

On then towards Akaroa.  I hadn't gone more than a handful of kms when I turned alongside an old shed I'd seen on the way in and made a mental note to stop at (though I had forgotten about it until I saw it!)  It was the 2 men sitting in seats opposite one another at the entrance to the shed (which turned out to be a working blacksmiths) that really drew my attention.  I stopped and asked if they minded me taking a few pics and they somewhat reluctantly obliged.  We began to chat and I learned a heap of history about the shed which I was invited to go inside and look at if I wanted - wow!  Character, rust, dust, tools, odds n' sods, signs, ropes, chains.........a myriad of infinite photographic possibilities (extras)!  Of course, I got to to talking to the men and Les (on the right) turned out to be an absolute mine of local history about the place and the area.  It was one of those chance meetings that make a day glow.

After a side trip to a nearby church which was recommended by Les, I eventually headed towards Akaroa which is where I am tonight. Stunning drive though some of those hills can be quite steep!  Looking forward to a wander around the town tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.